Saturday, August 25, 2007

Fund raising and Clothes Collection for Flood Victims in Terai Region

Major part of the Terai was filled with water during July/August 2007 due to the continuous rain for days and even weeks. Many people, institution, organization and other contributed a lot through cash and the cloths. In same scenario, we Lion and Leo Club of Kathmandu Mahankal along with OCEED organized a joint fund raising and cloth collection for them. We started our program from the Bouddha at around 9:30 am. We collected around Rs 6693 through the door to door visit of most of the house and shops of Bouddha and Jorpati. Moreover we also collected 28-30 huge sacks of clothes. We handed the Cash to the Kantipur Publication and clothes were handed to the Image channel. You can view the pictures below:

Panoramic view of Bouddha

Saturday, August 4, 2007

Nepals' New National Anthem

To download the Nepals' National Song, copy-paste this url - recorded from Nepal Television

New_National_Anthem.mp3 - good quality, 128 kbps

The new national anthem penned by Byakul Maila with Amber Gurung's music composition.

A cabinet meeting had approved Gurung's composition for the national anthem. Of the half a dozen compositions submitted to the cabinet for final selection – three by Gurung, and others by Nhyoo Bajracharya and Nepali Army (NA) – the cabinet selected Gurung's creation.

The new national anthem – written by Byakul Maila – will replace the "Shreeman Gambhir…" anthem, which was criticised for being merely a eulogy of monarchy. The earlier anthem was written by poet Chakrapani Chalise.

With the above song get the lyrics too:

सयौं थुँगा फूलका हामी एउटै माला नेपाली
सार्वभौम भई फैलिएका मेची- महाकाली।

सयौं थुँगा फूलका हामी एउटै माला नेपाली
सार्वभौम भई फैलिएका मेची- महाकाली।

प्रकृतिका कोटीकोटी सम्पदाको आँचल
वीरहरुका रगतले स्वतन्त्र र अटल

ज्ञानभूमि शान्तभूमि तराइ पहाड हिमाल
अखण्ड यो प्यारो हाम्रो मातृभूमि नेपाल

बहुल जाति भाषा धर्म संस्कृति छन् विशाल
अग्रगामी राष्ट्र हाम्रो जय जय नेपाल।

रचनाकारः व्याकुल माइला (प्रदीपकुमार राई)
सङ्गीतकारः अम्बर गुरुङ
गायक/गायिकाः यम बराल, विमला राई, जयनन्द लामा, बेनुका राई, झुमा लिम्बू, रुपा झा, चन्दा देवानऽ राजेशपायल राई आदि ।